Attendance Policies and Procedures
Attendance phone: 760.290.2349
(direct line and 24-hour voicemail)
Attendance email: firstname.lastname@example.org
From the Attendance Clerk at Double Peak K-8 School:
We kindly ask that you keep your child home only when it is absolutely necessary.
***Note: All messages regarding your child attendance should be directed to the Attendance Clerk rather than to your student’s teacher(s). You may certainly take the extra step to notify the teacher(s), but it is in Attendance that all record-keeping takes place.
ARRIVAL AT SCHOOL
School starts promptly at 8:15 a.m. for 1st – 8th grade. Students are allowed to come on campus at 7:45 a.m. when supervision is provided. For your children’s safety, they are not to arrive before this time. Please make plans for them if you must leave for work at an earlier time.School starts promptly at 8:00 am for AM Kinder and 11:20 for PM Kinder/TK. Please drop your child off at the kindergarten playground gate no earlier than 7:50 a.m. for AM Kindergarten and 11:10 a.m. for PM Kindergarten. Please watch them walk through the gate. They will be supervised on the playground until the bell rings at 8:00 a.m. for AM Kindergarten and 11:20 a.m. for PM Kindergarten. Please teach your child to unbuckle him/herself so you do not have to get out of the car.
Please also note that there will be heavy traffic during school drop off. Carpooling is highly recommended. Please plan accordingly.
Please Notify us each day that your student is absent! Each absence from school must be reported to the Attendance Clerk by a parent/guardian within 72 hours, as required by California state law.
Please verify your child’s absence by calling the attendance voicemail line at (760) 290-2349 or emailing attendance at email@example.com or your student may bring in a written note from parent/guardian. Please include the following information:
- Name of student (with spelling of the last name)
- Date(s) of absence or tardy
- Specific reason for absence or tardy
- Your name and relationship to student
Excused absences are those due to an illness, a medical appointment, a court appearance, a death in the family, or a religious holiday. All other reasons will be unexcused.
Should a situation arise which requires your child to be absent from school for five days or more, please notify the teacher AND the attendance clerk as soon as possible. An Independent Study Contract will be required to be completed.
UNEXCUSED / UNVERIFIED ABSENCES
If we do not hear from a parent/guardian regarding your student’s absence, we will attempt to call you that day. Your student’s absence must be reported to the attendance clerk within 72 hours, as required by California state law. Please understand that all unverified absences are considered unexcused—and will be marked as truancies—until
we hear from a parent/guardian.
Repeated unexcused absences for all or part of the school day, including absences from school without knowledge or consent of parents and/or unexcused tardiness, constitutes truancy under the State Education Code, Students who have numerous unexcused absences, tardies, or truancies from school may be referred to the School Attendance Review Board (SARB) for official intervention
LATE ARRIVAL TO SCHOOL
Should your student arrive late to school for any reason, he/she must check in at the Attendance Desk before going to class and receive a late pass. For safety reasons, it is important for school staff to be aware that your child is now on campus. In addition to calling or emailing, tardies may also be verified by a note from a parent/guardian or doctor, or parent/guardian may accompany student to sign in and provide a reason on the check-in sheet.
Excused tardies are those due to an illness, a medical appointment, a court appearance, a death in the family, or a religious holiday. All other reasons including traffic will be unexcused. Please plan accordingly.
CHECKING STUDENTS OUT DURING SCHOOL HOURS
Please arrive early if you need to pick up a student. Students will not be called out of the classroom until a parent or guardian is in the office.
Parents are required to come to the Attendance Desk to meet and sign out their student. Students may not meet parents in the parking lot or drop-off lane. Students will only be released to those persons that parent or guardian has notified us of. Photo Identification is required when signing out a student.
Attendance is important!
Send your student to school--on time--every day!